Obedience in the Battle

obedience

Something I never mentioned in this past week’s message but meant to was the role of obedience in the spiritual battle.  The word obedience is a word that most of us relegate to dog training, but it is absolutely essential to every person who is serious about fighting the spiritual battle.  Understand something obvious here – in order to experience the promises from God, obedience to his plan is essential!

There ARE conditions to God moving on our behalf.  Because we are grace people we don’t like to think of it that way, but it’s true.  If we go on living lives that are flirting with sin and selfishness and immorality, yet b/c we raised a hand or prayed a prayer we think God is going to come through, we are missing it!

It’s the whole idea of John 15:5-7 (NIV):

5  “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. 6  If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. 7  If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you.

I can’t blame the Devil for battles that I walked into due to my unwillingness to submit to the clear teaching of Scripture!  I can win the battle as long as I stay and remain in Him!  Think on that…

Posted in Pathway Thoughts, Prayer/Devotional Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter
Blogs I Follow
MeganMillerBlog

Thoughts from Megan

